

LONDON BOROUGH OF BRENT

Minutes of the ORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 at 7.15 pm

PRESENT:

The Worshipful the Mayor Councillor Harbhajan Singh

The Deputy Mayor Councillor M Aslam Choudry

COUNCILLORS:

Aden Adeyeye
Al-Ebadi Allie
Arnold Ashraf
Mrs Bacchus Baker
Beck Beswick
Brown Butt
Castle Cheese

Chohan S Choudhary
Clues Colwill
Crane Cummins

Daly Denselow Gladbaum Green Harrison Hashmi Hirani Hector Hossain Hunter John Jones Kabir Kataria Long Lorber

Mashari McLennan Mistry Mitchell Murray

J Moher
Moloney
Naheerathan
Ogunro
Oladapo
BM Patel
HB Patel
Powney
R Moher
Naheerathan
Oladapo
CJ Patel
Ms Shaw

Sheth Sneddon Steel Thomas

Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from: Councillors Matthews and HM Patel

1. Declarations of personal and prejudicial interests

None declared.

2. Mayor's announcements

The Mayor stated he was honoured to preside over his first meeting of Full Council. He welcomed all newly elected members to the meeting as well as returning members.

The Mayor congratulated former-councillor Bob Blackman on his election as MP for Harrow East.

The Mayor reminded the meeting of his chosen charities for the year which were: Asian People's Disability Alliance, Shooting Stars Childrens' Hospice and St Luke's Hospice.

The Mayor drew attention to the list of current petitions showing progress on dealing with them circulated around the chamber in accordance with Standing Orders.

3. Independent members on Standards Committee

The Borough Solicitor introduced her report which proposed increasing the number of alternate Independent Members on the Standards Committee.

RESOLVED:-

that the Members' Allowance Scheme in part 8 of the constitution be amended to provide for an additional alternate independent member of the Standards Committee.

4. Representation of political groups on committees

The Council was required to review and determine the representation of the political groups on committees and allocate committee places to political groups accordingly at, or as soon as practicable after, its Annual meeting. The report before Members dealt with the rules to be applied on the allocation of places on committees established by the Council.

RESOLVED:-

(i) that the size of the committees to be established by the Council and the allocation of seats to each of the political groups be as follows:

Committee	Size	Labour	Liberal	Conservatives

			Democrats	
General	10	6	3	1
Purposes				
Planning	11	7	3	1
Audit	3	2	1	0
Totals	24	15	7	2
Overview and	8	5	2	1
Scrutiny				
Children and	8*	5	2	1
Families				
Overview and				
Scrutiny				
Alcohol and	15	10	4	1
Entertainment				
Licensing				
Standards	3#	1	1	1

^{*}plus 4 voting co-opted members and 2 non voting co-opted members #plus 4 independent members

(ii) to note that the political balance on sub-committees will be reviewed at the first meetings of the General Purposes Committee, Alcohol and Entertainment Licensing Committee and Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

5. The Executive

Councillor Moloney moved a motion to appoint the Leader.

RESOLVED:

- (i) that Councillor Ann John, OBE be appointed Leader of the Council for a four year term expiring upon the Annual meeting of the Council in May 2014;
- (ii) that the appointment of Councillor Muhammed Butt as Deputy Leader and the following Executive Members be noted:

Councillor	Portfolio
John (Leader and Chair)	Corporate Strategy and Policy Co- ordination
Butt (Deputy Leader and Vice Chair)	Finance and Corporate Resources
Thomas	Housing and Customer Services
J Moher	Transport and Highways
R Moher	Adults, Health and Social Care
Crane	Regeneration and Economic Development
Beswick	Crime Prevention and Public Safety
Jones	Human Resources and Diversity, Local Democracy and Consultation
Powney	Environment, Planning and Culture
Arnold	Children and Families

6. Appointments to committees and outside bodies and appointment of chairs/vice chairs (if any)

Nominations for the places on committees and other bodies, including chairs and vice chairs, and outside bodies were tabled.

Councillor Lorber amended the nomination of Councillor Clues on the Alcohol and Entertainment Licensing Committee and the Alcohol and Entertainment Licensing Sub-Committee (A) by replacing him with Councillor Cheese.

Councillor Lorber proposed that the chairs of the area consultative forums should be picked from the party with the greatest number of seats in the respective area. On this basis he proposed Councillor Green as chair of the Kilburn and Kensal Area Consultative Forum. In respect of the Willesden Area Consultative Forum the number of councillors representing this area was equal between Labour and the Liberal Democrats and so Councillor Lorber proposed that councillors from each party alternate each year and he proposed Councillor Ashraf for 2010/11. These nominations were put to the vote and declared LOST. In voting against the proposals, Councillor John agreed to further discussion of the arrangements for area consultative forums within discussions to be held on various aspects of the Council's constitution.

Councillor Lorber withdrew the nomination of Councillor Cummins to one of the positions on the Tricycle Theatre. Upon a vote it was agreed that Councillors Long, Ogunro, Jones and Steel be appointed to the Brent Housing Partnership Board.

RESOLVED:

- (i) that the Chairs, Vice-Chairs and membership of committees be appointed as set out in Appendix A to these minutes;
- (ii) that John Mann be re-appointed Chair and Angela Ruotolo appointed Vice-Chair of the Standards Committee;
- (iii) that the following voting co-optees be appointed to the Children and Families Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2010/11:

Mr Akisanya Parent Governor, Primary Dr Kumar Parent Governor, Secondary

Mr R Lorenzato Catholic faith

Vacancy Church of England faith

- (iv) that Dr J Levison, representing the Jewish faith, and Mrs Shalla Tabi, representing the Muslim faith, be appointed as non-voting co-opted members of the Children and Families Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2010/11;
- (v) that appointments/nominations to outside bodies be made as set out in Appendix B to these minutes.

7. Municipal calendar of meetings for 2010/11

Councillor Moloney moved the adoption of the calendar of meetings as amended by the tabled supplementary report and subject to the Executive on Monday 21 June 2010 being moved to Wednesday 23 June 2010.

RESOLVED:

- (i) that the dates for Full Council and other meetings to take place during 2010/2011 as set out in Appendix 1 to the report, as amended, be agreed in principle;
- (ii) that the Democratic Services Manager be authorised to make any alterations deemed necessary to the calendar during the course of the municipal year, subject to the usual consultation.

8. **Urgent business**

There was none.

The meeting closed at 7.45 pm

COUNCILLOR HARBHAJAN SINGH Mayor